At the conference two prestigious prizes for young scientists will be awarded.


The IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 2023

The Early Career Scientist Prize (previously Young Scientist Prize) in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics will be awarded by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) through its Commission C15 (AMO Physics). The prize includes a certificate, a medal, a 1,000 € award and an invited presentation at ICPEAC 2023. Eligible nominees should have had, by January 1, 2023, no more than 8 years of research experience following the PhD, excluding career interruptions, and have made original and outstanding contributions to the field of AMO Physics and its community. Nominations can be made by senior members of the research community and should be sent to Rosario González-Férez (, the Chair of IUPAP C15, by March 31, 2023.

The Sheldon Datz Prize for an Outstanding Young Researcher attending ICPEAC

The Sheldon Datz Prize supports an outstanding young researcher (graduate student/post-doc) to attend ICPEAC 2023 with a US $1,000 award. Among equally qualified candidates, the personal/institutional funding situation that would otherwise not enable participation of the applicant at ICPEAC is taken into account. Any person who fulfills the above criteria and plans to contribute to the ICPEAC 2023 conference through either an invited talk or presentation of a poster should apply to Emma Sokell, the International Scientific Secretary of ICPEAC ( by April 11, 2023.