Here are the confirmed speakers for the five plenary lectures and their titles.

Click on the title for the abstract!


Why are atomic and molecular dimers so exciting?

Amine Cassimi (CIMAP laboratory, CEA/CNRS/ENSICAEN/UNICAEN, France)

Amine Cassimi is a senior scientist at the CIMAP laboratory. During his PhD in Physics received from the University of Caen, and in collaboration with the Kastler Brossel laboratory (ENS-LKB), he constructed the first diode pumped solid state laser at 1.08 µm and used it for He optical pumping experiments. He joined the CIMAP AMO group in 1990, which is one of the three pioneering groups who developed the COLTRIMS technique, and initiated atomic and molecular collision experiments with GANIL facility (Caen) ion beams. He is a fellow of the French Physical society (SFP). He has served as the co-chair of HCI (2002) and ISIAC (2011) conferences and is currently on several Scientific Advisory Committees (GANIL ion facility, IP2I laboratory) and International Advisory Committees (HCI, ISIAC). He was the Director of the CIMAP laboratory from 2014 to 2020. His current research activities concentrate on atomic and molecular dimers interaction dynamics with slow and swift highly charged ions.


A glimpse into the world of ICD and ETMD

Lorenz S. Cederbaum (Ruprecht-Karls University Heidelberg)

Lorenz Cederbaum did his doctoral studies in Chemistry and completed his habilitation in Physics, both at the Technical University of Munich. Then he joined the University of Freiburg as an Associate Professor of Physics, and after three years he moved to the University of Heidelberg as Professor of Theoretical Chemistry. Since 2017, he occupies the position of Senior Professor for Theoretical Chemistry at the University of Heidelberg. He is a member of the Leopoldina National Academy of Sciences and of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science and is Visiting Distinguished Professor at the Technion in Haifa, Israel. He received two ERC Advanced Investigators Grants (2008, 2016) towards the study of ICD, and ETMD and ICEC and other related interatomic processes. He was awarded honorary doctorates in 2009 from Sofia University (Bulgaria), in 2012 from the Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, and in 2016 from the University of Debrecen (Hungary). Among others, his research areas comprise the study of phenomena of electron correlation in molecules, clusters, and solids; multimode nuclear dynamics in molecules including conical intersections; atoms, and molecules in strong fields; Bose-Einstein condensation; and ultrafast electronic processes in chemical media.


Ionization in intense laser fields beyond the electric dipole approximation

Ursula Keller (ETH Zürich)

Ursula Keller has been a tenured professor of physics at ETH Zurich since 1993 and served as a director of the Swiss research program NCCR MUST in ultrafast science from 2010 to 2022. She received a „Diplom“ at ETH Zurich in 1984, a Ph.D. at Stanford University USA in 1989, and was a Member of Technical Staff (MTS) at Bell Labs USA 1989 to 1993 where she started her independent research. She has been a co-founder and board member for Time-Bandwidth Products (acquired by JDSU in 2014), for GigaTera (acquired by Time-Bandwidth in 2003) and a board member of Jenoptik since 2022.  Her research interests are exploring and pushing the frontiers in ultrafast science and technology. Awards include the Swiss Science Prize Marcel Benoist (2022), OSA Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize (2020), SPIE Gold Medal (2020), IEEE Edison Medal (2019), European Inventor Award for lifetime achievement (2018), OSA Charles H. Townes Award (2015), LIA Arthur L. Schawlow Award (2013), ERC advanced grants (2012 and 2018), and EPS Senior Prize (2011). She supervised and graduated 93 Ph.D. students, published >500 journal publications and according to Google Scholar has an h-index of 119 with more than 50’000 citations.


Ultrafast quantum simulation and quantum computing with ultracold atom arrays at quantum speed limit

Kenji Ohmori (Institute for Molecular Science, National Institutes of Natural Sciences, Japan)

Kenji Ohmori is a Chair Professor at the Institute for Molecular Science (IMS), National Institutes of Natural Sciences, Japan. After receiving his Ph.D. from The University of Tokyo in 1992, he was a Research Associate and an Associate Professor at Tohoku University. In 2003 he was appointed a Full Professor at IMS. Professor Ohmori is currently leading a large-scale/long-term national project on the development of ultrafast quantum simulators and quantum computers (2018-2030) generously supported with priority by the MEXT and Cabinet Office of the government of Japan, expected as one of the top runners in quantum technologies. He has been celebrated with many honors. Highlights include the Japan Academy Medal (2007), Fellow of the American Physical Society (2009), Humboldt Research Award from the government of Germany (2012), and Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of MEXT (2018). Most recently, in November 2021, he was awarded a national honor, the Medal with Purple Ribbon, by His Majesty the Emperor of Japan for his achievements on quantum physics. The Medal with Purple Ribbon is awarded for inventions and discoveries in science and technology, and for outstanding achievements in the fields of science, sports, art and culture.


Electron impact ionization as a fundamental few-body process and a tool to study molecular dynamics

Alexander Dorn (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Germany)

Alexander Dorn is head of a research group at the Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics (MPIK) in Heidelberg with the Division Director Thomas Pfeifer. He received his Diploma Degree from University Karlsruhe and PhD from University of Freiburg in 1994 under supervision of Werner Mehlhorn. In 1996-1997 he had a postdoc fellowship at the Research School of Physics at the Australian National University with Erich Weigold and Stephen Buckman. Subsequently he joined Joachim Ullrich at Freiburg University where he did his Habilitation in 2001. In the same year he followed Joachim Ullrich to the MPIK to his present post. He is lecturer at the University of Heidelberg.